A closeup of oats spilling out from a jar.
Are Oats Kosher And Acceptable For Passover?
By C.A. Pinkham
During the eight days of Passover, Jews are forbidden from eating leavened bread or any food made of grain and water that's been allowed to rise.
This includes bread and anything made from risen spelt, barley, wheat, rye, or oats. However, when it comes to oats, there is a loophole.
Oats are not explicitly forbidden, but leavened products are. It technically counts as leavening if the oats are cooked or hit water, so they're okay if they're not cooked or wet.
This means that dry oats are technically still acceptable. For whatever reason, if you feel like eating handfuls of dry oats, you're not in violation of the Talmud.